Read: Ohio Congresspeople Pledge Support for Jewish Community, Israel, In Public Letter

The Ohio Jewish Communities

Dear Friends,

In the wake of the barbaric terrorist attacks committed by the terrorist organization Hamas against Jewish communities in Israel, we as the elected United States Representatives and Senators from the State of Ohio write to reiterate our unwavering support for your safety and well-being. We strongly condemn antisemitism in all its forms, and stand with Jewish people in the United States and abroad.

The horrific images and stories that continue to pour out of Israel after the loss of so many lives at the hands of Hamas are heartbreaking. Hamas’ actions have touched off a ripple effect that has sown fear in communities around the world and increased antisemitic rhetoric directed to the Jewish state and Jewish people. To you in Ohio with family, friends, and communities affected by this tragic situation, we stand with you and offer you any help our offices can provide.

In Congress, we are committed to provide the military, economic, and humanitarian aid to support those impacted by the terrorist attacks. We are also dedicated to ensuring communities across Ohio have the resources and assistance necessary to provide security around synagogues, community centers, schools, and other important facilities. In fiscal year 2023, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Nonprofit Security Grant Program (NSGP) received $305 million to support hardening and other physical security enhancements and activities to nonprofit organizations. We will continue to work in a bipartisan manner to support programs like the NSGP, which provide Jewish communities across Ohio with security resources to help ensure your safety.

Now is the time to reiterate, with one voice, that there is no room for antisemitism in our nation. As your friends and elected officials, we are here to provide your communities with any assistance or support that you need during these dire times.


 Senator Sherrod Brown, Senator J.D. Vance, Member of Congress Robert Congressmen E. Latta, Member of Congress Troy Balderson, Member of Congress Jim Jordan, Member of Congress Mike Carey, Member of Congress Bill Johnson, Member of Congress Warren Davidson, Member of Congress Brad R. Wenstrup, Member of Congress Joyce Beatty, Member of Congress Max Miller, Member of Congress Marcy Kaptur, Member of Congress Michael Turner, Member of Congress Shontel M. Brown, Member of Congress David P. Joyce, Member of Congress Emilia Strong Joyce, Member of Congress Greg Landsman